Is Milk Good for Our Bones?

233 0 0
Home home Is Milk Good for Our Bones?
Published on December 26, 2017

The galactose in milk may explain why milk consumption is associated with significantly higher risk of hip fractures, cancer, and premature death. Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at http://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from the sales of his books, DVDs, and speaking engagements go to support the 501c3 nonprofit that runs NutritionFacts.org.) What can we do for our bones, then? Weight-bearing exercise such as jumping, weight-lifting, and walking with a weighted vest or backpack may help, along with getting enough calcium (Alkaline Diets, Animal Protein, & Calcium Loss http://nutritionfacts.org/video/alkaline-diets-animal-protein-and-calcium-loss/) and vitamin D (Resolving the Vitamin D-Bate http://nutritionfacts.org/video/resolving-the-vitamin-d-bate/). Eating beans (Phytates for the Prevention of Osteoporosis http://nutritionfacts.org/video/phytates-for-the-prevention-of-osteoporosis/) and avoiding phosphate additives (Phosphate Additives in Meat Purge and Cola http://nutritionfacts.org/video/phosphate-additives-in-meat-purge-and-cola/) may also help. Maybe the galactose angle can help explain the findings on prostate cancer (Prostate Cancer and Organic Milk vs. Almond Milk http://nutritionfacts.org/video/prostate-cancer-and-organic-milk-vs-almond-milk/) and Parkinson’s disease (Preventing Parkinson’s Disease With Diet http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-parkinsons-disease-with-diet/). Galactose is a milk sugar. There’s also concern about milk proteins (see my casomorphin http://nutritionfacts.org/topics/casomorphin/ series) and fats (The Saturated Fat Studies: Buttering Up the Public http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-saturated-fat-studies-buttering-up-the-public/ and Trans Fat in Meat and Dairy http://nutritionfacts.org/video/trans-fat-in-meat-and-dairy/) as well as the hormones (Dairy Estrogen and Male Fertility http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dairy-estrogen-and-male-infertility, Estrogen in Meat, Dairy, and Eggs http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Estrogen-in-Meat-Dairy-and-Eggs/ and Why Do Vegan Women Have 5x Fewer Twins? http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Why-Do-Vegan-Women-Have-5x-Fewer-Twins?). Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-milk-good-for-our-bones and he’ll try to answer it! http://www.NutritionFacts.org • Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org • Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts • Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/ • Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/ • Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

Category :  home

Womens Health Marketplace

Legal Notice: Product prices and availability are subject to change. Visit corresponding website for more details. Trade marks & images are copyrighted by their respective owners.

The Flat Belly Code

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *